DAC Results, Handicap Racing, Thu 1st June 2023


Sixteen DAC Sailors came along for our monthly Handicap day.

Last week I commented on the occasional lack of wind for the day’s sailing. Today beat that by miles.

The day started with no wind whatsoever. As the timer started for Race 1, a gentle breeze appeared from the West. We were dressed with our “A” sails and what should have been a good day, began. In fact by the start of Race 3, several of us selected “B” sails, a good call at the time. Race 4 was a drifter and that breeze disappeared. The water was as “glassy” as I’ve seen, see attached photos.

Once again, our Handicaps made little difference. Each of us were blessed if we crossed the start line anywhere near our allotted times.

Races one and two were sailed with a gentle zephyr. Bruce Paterson nabbed the first, and to keep it in the family, Karen Paterson won Race 2. Race 3 started as hoped, but the breeze died once we got underway.

Peter Close positioned himself well and just seemed to get enough boat speed to complete the Course and to win.

Race 4 saw Phil Stevenson drifted by the tide into the windward mark. Phil completed his penalty turn over the next 5 minutes and was not passed. Graham Brown followed some friendly wind ripples on the water and won this Race.

Consistency won the day. Peter Close always seems to be in the right place at the right time. Peter chose some good patches of wind when most were adrift and won the day with an equal score of 11 points. Martin Thearle had a great day on the water. Two places also gave Martin 11 points, the countback giving him second place. Philip Hetherington was equally successful with 11 points, all high places gave Philip third on a very challenging day.

We commenced Race 5 under drifting conditions. After 1 lap which seemed to take ages, and as 3.00pm was passed, we all agreed to “up stumps” and call it a day. Race 5 was abandoned.

Race winners were Peter Close 1, Bruce Paterson 1, Karen Paterson 1 and Graham Brown 1.

Peter Close took the honours for the day to win 1st place on 11 points.

Martin Thearle finished in 2nd place on 11 points, settled by a countback.

Philip Hetherington finished in 3rd place also with 11 points, also settled by a countback.

The Club Championship now has Graham Brown in front from Noel McPherson and Robin Tickner.

Our next Sail day is Thursday 8th June for a Scratch Event.