DAC Results, Handicap Racing, Thu 6th July 2023


Sixteen DAC Sailors came along for our Handicap Racing yesterday.

We enjoyed a coolish day with temperatures around 17oC and a Nor’Wester at 11 up to 23 Km/Hr, (6 to 13 Knots).

Initially the skies were clear with the associated glare. Almost on call, a gentle cloud cover developed giving us a welcome view of our boats.

There was no decision for sail choice, we all chose “B” ‘s for the duration.

Our Handicap days are always popular. Once again the scoresheet shows the closeness of the results with nine different Sailors having a win.

The final positions were decided by consistency and this was well displayed by Stephen Deane. Two second places and all high finishes gave Stephen 35 points and first place. Brendan Hones shadowed Stephen closely. Brendan’s win in Race 2 with a second and most places in the front half scored second place with 38 points. Phil Stevenson, once again with an 80 second handicap was still able to weave his way through the Fleet to score third place. Four boats were in contention for this position which for 3 were settled by a countback.

Most scores were only a couple of points apart.

It was a very courteous day on the water, Race Officers were not required. Phil Stevenson summed it up perfectly, “nothing much said, just the occasional clunk and someone did a circle”

Race winners were Brendan Hones 1, Ian Spencer 1, Karen Paterson 1, Richard Thorpe 1, Bruce Hilliard 1, Bruce Paterson 1, Judy Evans 1, Martin Thearle 1 and Narelle Derwent 1.

Stephen Deane took the honours for the day to win 1st place on 35 points.

Brendan Hones finished in 2nd place on 38 points.

Phil Stevenson finished in 3rd place also with 40 points, settled by a countback.

The Club Championship now has Graham Brown in front from Noel McPherson and Phil Stevenson.

Our next Sail day is Thursday 13th July for a Scratch  Event. I’ll forward forecast details closer to the day.